The Other 'F' Word: How Smart Leaders, Teams and Entrepreneurs Put Failure to Work

Trending Topic Talk with

Mark Coopersmith

Faculty Director, Senior Fellow and Lecturer, Entrepreneurship and Innovation, UC Berkeley, Author: The Other “F” Word; How Smart, Leaders, Teams, and Entrepreneurs Put Failure to Work

15 March, 22:00 SGT/15:00 CET/10am EDT/7am PDT

Would you like to join this session?

You can get your Innov8rs Connect pass here, or apply to become a member of Innov8rs Community here. Contact us for any help.

About the session

Successful leaders and organizations understand that to accelerate innovation and change, they must develop a more productive relationship with failure, which Mark Coopersmith calls “The Other ‘F’ Word” (also a bestselling Wiley title, with John Danner). In this session, Mark will explain that – while nobody likes to fail - innovators and leaders can be much more effective at putting failure to work - extracting insights and reinforcing a culture of experimentation - when things go wrong. He shares useful tools and frameworks such as the seven-stage “Failure Value Cycle” developed in his book, and draws upon his experiences as a Silicon Valley CEO, Sony corporate entrepreneur, UC Berkeley professor, and startup investor.

About the speaker

Mark Coopersmith is an educator, author, entrepreneur, and Fortune 500 executive. A Senior Fellow and Faculty Director at UC Berkeley, he teaches innovation, entrepreneurship, and leadership to current and future leaders at Cal and around the world. He has built and run global businesses for Sony, has launched and built successful Silicon Valley startups (his ecommerce startup WebOrder is owned by Google), has authored a bestselling book about learning from failure, and is an investor in multiple early-stage venture funds. His entrepreneurship students have launched more than 100 ventures globally. Mark holds multiple degrees from UC Berkeley.

Would you like to join this session?

You can get your Innov8rs Connect pass here, or apply to become a member of Innov8rs Community here. Contact us for any help.